• sasini rasanga

Best Government Schemes and Programs for Indian Farmer

The government of India always gives the top priority for the farmers’ welfare. So different schemes/ yojana’s and programs have been implemented with aim of resuscitating the Agriculture sector and improving the economic condition of farmers. To get the highest benefits, first, we have to get a thorough understanding of them.

Source: YourStory

1. Pradhan Manthri Kisan Scheme (PM-Kisan)

Source: Krishi Jagran

PM-Kisan is also called as Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana. This scheme is completely funded by the Government of India. Under this scheme, small and marginal farm families with husband, wife, and minor children are provided income support of Rs. 6,000/= per year in three installments. But institutional landholders and farmer families that belong to exclusion categories are not eligible for this scheme. The state government and the UT administration are the responsible bodies to select the eligible farmers.

Click here for more details.

2. Pradhan Manthri Kisan Maan Dhan Yojana (PM-Kisan Maan Dhan Scheme)


This is a kind of pension scheme that provides social security for small and marginal farmers in their old ages to cover their expenses. The minimum fixed pension is Rs. 3000/=. 18-40 years aged small and marginal farmers who own cultivable land up to 2 hectares are eligible for this scheme except for farmers who belong to exclusion criteria. Enrollment can be done via online or Common Service Centers in various states.

Click here for more details.

3. Pradhan Manthri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY)

This is an insurance scheme. It is mainly aiming at providing insurance cover and financial assistance to farmers in case of crop failures. All farmers growing notified crops in a notified area during the season under this scheme and who have an insurance interest in the crop are eligible to apply for this scheme. Under this scheme, yield losses caused due to unavoidable risks and natural disasters are covered.

Source: Pradhan Mantri Yojana

Click here for more details.

4. Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (PMKSY)

Source: Agademy

This scheme has been implemented with the aim of ensuring access to some means of protective irrigation to all agricultural lands in the country (“Har Khet Ko Pani”) and visioning “More crop per drop”. PMKSY consists of several program components.

  • Accelerated Irrigation Benefit Program (AIBP) – It has initiated to accelerate implementing the irrigation projects that exceed the resource capabilities of states. Special emphasis is given to Pre-fifth and Fifth-planned projects. The responsible body is the Ministry of Water Resources, River Development, and Ganga Rejuvenation.

  • Integrated Water Management Program (IWMP) – It has initiated to restore ecological balance by harnessing, conserving, and developing degraded natural resources. The responsible body is the Department of Land Resources.

  • On-Farm Water Management Program (OFWM) – It has initiated to increase crop production in ten states of Eastern India including the state of Bihar by creating additional irrigation facilities through the construction of minor irrigation structures at the command of the farmers. The responsible body is the Department of Agriculture and Corporation.

Click here for more details.

5. Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY)

Source: The Economic Times

This scheme is mainly implemented to promote organic farming through the adoption of the organic village for manure management and biological nitrogen harvesting by cluster approach and the Participatory Guarantee System (PGS) certification. PKVY is a subset of the Soil Health Management (SHM) Scheme, which operates under the major project National Mission on Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA).

Click here for details.

6. National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA)

NMSA comes under the National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC), aiming at promoting sustainable agriculture. The components under NMSA are as follows.

Source: IASToppers
  • Rainfed Area Development (RAD)

  • Soil Health Management (SHM)

  • Sub Mission on Agro Forestry (SMAF)

  • National Bamboo Mission (NBM)

  • Climate Change and Sustainable Agriculture: Monitoring, Modeling, and Networking (CCSAMMN)

NMSA meets key dimensions of “Water Use Efficiency”, “Nutrient Management”, and Livelihood Diversification” and aims at site-specific improved agronomic practices.

Click here for more details.

7. Soil Health Card Scheme (SHC)

Source: Dutch Openers
Source: Ministry of Agriculture

This comes under the Soil Health Management Component of NMSA. SHC gives information on soil nutrient status and appropriate recommendations to farmers.

Click here for more details.

8. Dairy Entrepreneurship Development Scheme (DEDS)

Source: Yojanas Info

This scheme has been introduced to revamp the previous Dairy Venture Capital Fund Scheme and make it more effective. DEDS is implemented by the National Bank for Agriculture & Rural Development (NABARD). The scheme focuses on structural changes in the dairy sector.

Click here for more details.

9. Livestock Insurance Scheme (LIS)

This insurance scheme has been introduced to demonstrate livestock insurance benefits and to protect dairy farmers from animal losses such as death. All the cattle farmers who have crossbreds and high yielding animals are eligible for this scheme. The responsible bodies are the Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying & Fisheries and at the state level State Livestock Development Boards.

Click here for more details.

10. National Agriculture Market (e-NAM)

Source: Google Play

This is a kind of marketing scheme which gives an e-marketing platform at the national level. Also, it provides support to create marketing infrastructure. e-NAM is implemented and acts as the leading agency by the Small Farmers Agribusiness Consortium (SFAC). Almost all the agricultural commodity marketing details can be obtained via the e-NAM website.

Click here for more details.

18 views0 comments